transfer case calibration

jafir

May 4, 2011
Northwest Arkansas
Has anyone attempted the manual transfer case calibration procedure?

I got a new toy, nanocom license for LR3, and I started playing around with updating the firmware on different things. I updated the firmware on my transfer case module, and it seems to have wiped the calibration. The low range light is flashing on the dash, and there are some code stored for calibration. The service manual lists in multiple places to use the Land Rover computer to do the calibration, but in one place it says that you can do it manually:

Clutch and Range Change Mechanism Calibration
In order for the range change mechanism to function correctly, the transfer box control module must be calibrated to the mechanical dimensions of the transfer box that it is connected to.

This procedure will need to be followed if one of the following occurs:
* The vehicle is first assembled
* The switch is changed
* The transfer box control module is changed
* The transfer box or range position sensor is changed
* Vehicle or transfer box control module fault has caused the transfer box to revert to an undefined range.

Calibration can be carried out using the service tool or by following this procedure:
* Switch ignition to position II without the engine running
* Select automatic or manual transmission neutral
* Depress the throttle pedal fully
* Press and hold the range change switch for 5 or more seconds to allow calibration to start
* When the calibration is heard to start, the switch and throttle pedal can be released
* Upon adopting high range, start the engine and wait 30 seconds while the first calibration of the clutch in high range is done.
While this calibration process is in progress, no shifting is accepted
* Switch ignition off and wait 15 seconds
* Start engine
* Perform a range change to low range. Wait 30 seconds while the first calibration of the clutch in low range is done.