DiscoWeb Message Boards
 

Go Back   DiscoWeb Message Boards > Miscellaneous > Tools and Techniques

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2008, 10:28 AM   #1
sven
Member
 
sven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: State College,PA
Posts: 4,869
Default Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

I converted my Lincoln 140 Mig to gas last night and did some test welds. OMG, I couldn't believe how much better welding with gas is! Flux sucks

Anyways, what do you typically set the pressure regulator to for the gas? My book doesnt specify this.
__________________
Never half ass two things, whole ass one thing.
sven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 11:09 AM   #2
Roxtar
Frequent Poster
 
Roxtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: www.roxtarfab.com
Posts: 547
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

I go with about 35-40 lbs.
Wanna see some really cool welds?
Use the flux core wire with gas. Takes a little work to get it set right but the welds flow like butta.
__________________
www.roxtarfab.com
Roxtar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:18 PM   #3
I HATE PONIES
Member
 
I HATE PONIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,855
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

I plan to get the Hobart on gas this weekend. I have the numbers but alas they are out in the shop and it's cold as hell. You should be able to find them here. http://www.hobartwelders.com/weldtalk/
__________________
2001 DiscoII
1994 Disco I

Drillbit's first new customer!!!
I HATE PONIES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 08:58 PM   #4
R_Lefebvre
Member
 
R_Lefebvre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 942
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Uh, don't you set your regulator for volume, not pressure?

My TIG welder generally runs at 25 CFH.
__________________
-2004 Disco V8, 5 Speed
-2001 Focus Turbo
-2009 Yamaha WR250X
R_Lefebvre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 10:43 PM   #5
OddBall...wolf...wolf
Member
 
OddBall...wolf...wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Powhatan, Va
Posts: 152
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

I typically run my mig machine at 30 cfh but then again its a bigger gun than that. I would say 20 cfh should be sufficient unless there is wind or over head then it might need to be bumped up a bit.
OddBall...wolf...wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 01:44 AM   #6
repete
Junior Member
 
repete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alaska
Posts: 13
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Iv'e always ran 15-17 cfh on my miller matic 250
repete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 10:08 AM   #7
Roxtar
Frequent Poster
 
Roxtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: www.roxtarfab.com
Posts: 547
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Yea, I didn't really think first but I'm pushing through a 15' stinger from a Hobart 450
Welder sm.jpg
__________________
www.roxtarfab.com
Roxtar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 08:04 PM   #8
sven
Member
 
sven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: State College,PA
Posts: 4,869
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

How do you know if you're using too much or too little gas? In other words, what do you look for while welding?
__________________
Never half ass two things, whole ass one thing.
sven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 01:17 PM   #9
ptschram
Encyclopaedia Brown
 
ptschram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In a Snap-On truck somewhere around Churubusco, IN
Posts: 21,221
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Too much gas flow will cause atmospheric air to be drawn into the weld and cause poor weld quality. Too little gas flow won't adequately shield the weld from the atmosphere causing poor weld quality.

I've had experienced welders tell me they purge their welders into their face and adjust for a gentle flow. I usually set for about 15 CFH if welding inside without a fan on and 20-30 is outside, the doors are open or I have a fan going.
ptschram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 04:14 PM   #10
R_Lefebvre
Member
 
R_Lefebvre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 942
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Yeah, and I've learned to purge before starting a weld if it's been a little while since the last weld. I wish there was a way to do it manually... I just hit the pedal for a sec holding the torch far away from the work, let the gas go a bit, move to the weld, then hit the pedal again.

Not sure how you'd do it on a MIG without having the wire come out?
__________________
-2004 Disco V8, 5 Speed
-2001 Focus Turbo
-2009 Yamaha WR250X
R_Lefebvre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 04:57 PM   #11
ptschram
Encyclopaedia Brown
 
ptschram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In a Snap-On truck somewhere around Churubusco, IN
Posts: 21,221
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Lefebvre

Not sure how you'd do it on a MIG without having the wire come out?
My welder has a "Purge" position.
ptschram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 11:00 PM   #12
I HATE PONIES
Member
 
I HATE PONIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,855
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Hey PT how big is your tank? I am confused by all of the blah blah blah. How big of a tank will I need for medium use but still fit in a welding cart. I don't think I need one as big as the torch tanks but I don't want one too small either.
__________________
2001 DiscoII
1994 Disco I

Drillbit's first new customer!!!
I HATE PONIES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 02:59 PM   #13
ptschram
Encyclopaedia Brown
 
ptschram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In a Snap-On truck somewhere around Churubusco, IN
Posts: 21,221
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Quote:
Originally Posted by I HATE PONIES
Hey PT how big is your tank?
Lemme go measure it.
ptschram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 04:57 PM   #14
sven
Member
 
sven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: State College,PA
Posts: 4,869
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

I bought a 40. The guy told me if I set the volume at 20, it would last 2 hours of weld time.
__________________
Never half ass two things, whole ass one thing.
sven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 03:36 PM   #15
I HATE PONIES
Member
 
I HATE PONIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,855
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

I ended up getting a 92. I am curious to see if it will last as long as a 10lb spool of wire.
__________________
2001 DiscoII
1994 Disco I

Drillbit's first new customer!!!
I HATE PONIES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 11:11 AM   #16
I HATE PONIES
Member
 
I HATE PONIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,855
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

I don't know how I ever welded without gas. This is an absolutely amazing difference and it's cheaper. It is plain to see that the difference between novice welding and professional welding is not only experience but largely the equipment.
__________________
2001 DiscoII
1994 Disco I

Drillbit's first new customer!!!
I HATE PONIES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 11:04 AM   #17
antichrist
Member
 
antichrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,207
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptschram
I've had experienced welders tell me they purge their welders into their face and adjust for a gentle flow.
That's what I do for both MIG and TIG. Of course with MIG I have to be sure to disengage the wire feed drive wheel first.
__________________
Tom Rowe

Four wheel drive allows you to get stuck
in places even more inaccessible.

62 88 reg
67 NADA x2
74 Air Portable - The Antichrist (tag 6A666)
95 D1
95 D90
antichrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 11:07 AM   #18
antichrist
Member
 
antichrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,207
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Quote:
Originally Posted by I HATE PONIES
It is plain to see that the difference between novice welding and professional welding is not only experience but largely the equipment.
Actually it's more experience than equipment.
As for MIG vs. fluxcore, they are both "professional" processes and both have their place.
Take your MIG outside to repair some equipment on a windy day and tell me how much better it is than fluxcore.
__________________
Tom Rowe

Four wheel drive allows you to get stuck
in places even more inaccessible.

62 88 reg
67 NADA x2
74 Air Portable - The Antichrist (tag 6A666)
95 D1
95 D90
antichrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 10:13 PM   #19
I HATE PONIES
Member
 
I HATE PONIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,855
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Quote:
Originally Posted by antichrist
Actually it's more experience than equipment.
As for MIG vs. fluxcore, they are both "professional" processes and both have their place.
Take your MIG outside to repair some equipment on a windy day and tell me how much better it is than fluxcore.
I have both just in case. I don't plan to weld outside though.

I am just saying that the difference between flux core and gas is like the difference between flux core and stick.

The biggest plus is the lack of smoke inside.
__________________
2001 DiscoII
1994 Disco I

Drillbit's first new customer!!!
I HATE PONIES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 10:59 PM   #20
jeepfiend
Member
 
jeepfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southeast Idaho
Posts: 109
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Don't be too quick to bash the stick!! You can just about train a monkey to run a squirt gun, but to really learn to weld, you should start with a torch, move to the stick, and then on to the squirt gun. When I got certified, they wouldn't even let us touch the wire feed until we certified with the stick. Reason being, the stick really teaches you how to manage the puddle and understand what the metal is going to do with the heat applied. The torch even more so. I use my wire feed quite a bit, but I still like the buzz box. Since my wire feed is only a 110V unit, I always resort to the stick for anything heavier than 1/8". I've never been too good overhead, but it's really just a practice thing. I don't spend the time welding I used to, so things aren't as pretty as they used to be, but I still really like my stick welder.
jeepfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 07:51 AM   #21
antichrist
Member
 
antichrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,207
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

x2 on learning stick frist to be good at MIG. Way to easy to get cold lap with MIG.

Quote:
Originally Posted by I HATE PONIES
I am just saying that the difference between flux core and gas is like the difference between flux core and stick.
I underatnd what you're getting at. My point was that it actually is weldor skill more than equipment.
A skilled weldor can do a good job with crappy equipment (god knows I've used some crappy equipment over the years), but I don't care how many dollars you throw at equipment for a crappy weldor, you'll still have crappy welds.
__________________
Tom Rowe

Four wheel drive allows you to get stuck
in places even more inaccessible.

62 88 reg
67 NADA x2
74 Air Portable - The Antichrist (tag 6A666)
95 D1
95 D90

Last edited by antichrist; 03-14-2008 at 07:56 AM.
antichrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:58 PM   #22
maxyedor
Member
 
maxyedor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,353
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Lefebvre
Yeah, and I've learned to purge before starting a weld if it's been a little while since the last weld. I wish there was a way to do it manually... I just hit the pedal for a sec holding the torch far away from the work, let the gas go a bit, move to the weld, then hit the pedal again.

Not sure how you'd do it on a MIG without having the wire come out?
Most if not all the newer tigs have a pre-flow setting, usually you only need .1sec, but if it's been sitting a while I step it up to 1 sec. for the first weld. On a mig you just turn the wire-speed way down and point it away from the work, you do end up wasting a few inches of wire, but there's a few thousand feet of wire on a spool, so who cares about 6-8 inches?

I have my mig set to 12cfh in-doors and 19cfh outside, use as little as possible without contaminated welds, no sense in overshielding, all it does is waste gas and money.
__________________
98 Disco, it pretty much kicks ass.
maxyedor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 10:00 AM   #23
antichrist
Member
 
antichrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,207
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxyedor
I have my mig set to 12cfh in-doors and 19cfh outside, use as little as possible without contaminated welds, no sense in overshielding, all it does is waste gas and money.
Too high a flow rate will also distort your arc and lessen weld quality.
__________________
Tom Rowe

Four wheel drive allows you to get stuck
in places even more inaccessible.

62 88 reg
67 NADA x2
74 Air Portable - The Antichrist (tag 6A666)
95 D1
95 D90
antichrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 07:17 PM   #24
I HATE PONIES
Member
 
I HATE PONIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,855
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxyedor
Most if not all the newer tigs have a pre-flow setting, usually you only need .1sec, but if it's been sitting a while I step it up to 1 sec. for the first weld. On a mig you just turn the wire-speed way down and point it away from the work, you do end up wasting a few inches of wire, but there's a few thousand feet of wire on a spool, so who cares about 6-8 inches?

I have my mig set to 12cfh in-doors and 19cfh outside, use as little as possible without contaminated welds, no sense in overshielding, all it does is waste gas and money.
I just flip the tension adjuster down and hit the trigger. The gas comes out but the wire doesn't. The gas comes out so fast that I think it may not be needed. I do it anyway just to be sure.

On the flow rate the welder shop guy told me to run 30cfh. It is working O.K. so far but I will try turning it down if I can get away with it.
__________________
2001 DiscoII
1994 Disco I

Drillbit's first new customer!!!
I HATE PONIES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 11:39 AM   #25
antichrist
Member
 
antichrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,207
Default Re: Using CO2/Argon for MIG Welding

The Weldor's bible:
https://ssl.lincolnelectric.com/linc...asp?prodnum=PH
__________________
Tom Rowe

Four wheel drive allows you to get stuck
in places even more inaccessible.

62 88 reg
67 NADA x2
74 Air Portable - The Antichrist (tag 6A666)
95 D1
95 D90
antichrist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone need any welding done? GrandLordKhorne General 5 12-10-2007 12:21 AM
Welding Mild and Stainless Steel jmoore Discovery - Technical Discussions 12 11-24-2006 09:09 AM
Welding Table jymmiejamz Tools and Techniques 19 08-30-2006 04:43 PM
Welding cable to relocate winch solenoids Eric N. Discovery - Technical Discussions 14 03-31-2006 03:50 PM
Welding with a stick/jumper cables??? DannyDisco Tools and Techniques 13 02-09-2006 03:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ?2000 - 2013, DiscoWeb LLC. All rights reserved.