Suspension

Roverlady

Apr 20, 2004
Shenandoah valley
So, I've been thinking (daily) about lifting the Disco. I guess it's about time....
but I have a few questions.
1. I only want 2-3 inches at the most. Should I get medium or heavy duty springs? I have a friend selling some OME hds...but we might put those on the Rangie.

2. Old Man Emu or Rovertym? The RTE guys are near me, and I could chat with them at MAR....but it seems like everyone has OME.

Oh, I will not be getting a winch or heavy duty bumper for many years (if ever) so I know that makes a difference for spring rating.

Thanks in advance for the suggestions.

stansell

Jun 14, 2004
Norfolk, VA
I have a 3" OME set up with the 762's (HD) in the rear. I found little difference on pavement as far as ride is concerned (though I have ACE which may make on road springs less important for cornering?) Off road, it has been a great set up. :D I have no experience with RTE, so can't comment. FWIW, and good luck.

BTW, I have a 99 DII which had SLS til I converted it to springs, so my views may not reflect those that have always had coil springs.

Greg French

Sep 7, 2004
Myrtle Beach, SC
Both are great. Go with what is most convenient for you. The HD ride is a little more truck-like, but isn't that why you got a Rover in the first place?

C

cmondieyoung

I like my truck to drive like a truck as well, and so I like the OME HD. The road handling on my truck has improved, particularly around town on Boulder's oft-neglected streets.

S

Sergei

Susannah, your corner of the States populated with modified Discos :) If you going to MAR just ask people to ride in their trucks to find which ones you like more. Also spring rating will be affected by how much stuff you gonna haul on daily basis and off-road. Thing is - if you got piles of gear when you wheeling, you definetly need pretty stiff springs, but then daily driving becomes pretty harsh (less load --> stiffer springs reaction).